Our Team

Contact Information

Email: gozde.unal@itu.edu.tr

Prof. Dr. Gözde Ünal

Professor

gozde.unal@itu.edu.tr
Faculty of Computer and Informatics Engineering, Room 5309
Ayazaga Campus, Istanbul Technical University
Istanbul, Turkey

Biography

Gozde Unal received her PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering with a PhD minor in Mathematics from North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA, in 2002. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Georgia Institute of Technology, USA, Dr. Unal worked as a research scientist at Siemens Corporate Research, Princeton, NJ, USA between 2003-2007. She also worked at HPLabs, Palo Alto, CA, and Xerox Labs, Webster, NY as a visiting researcher.  She held positions of assistant professor and associate professor at Sabancı University, Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences between 2007-2015.   In Fall 2015, she joined Istanbul Technical University, Department of Computer Engineering, where she is currently a full professor. She is one of the founding professors of the new AI&Data Engineering Department at ITU. She served as the founding director of the ITU-AI: ITU Artificial Intelligence and Data Science Research Center.

Dr. Unal was the recipient of L’Oreal Turkey’s Female Scientist Award in 2010 in Life Sciences, and the Distinguished Young Scientist Award from TUBA (GEBIP). She was awarded the Marie Curie Alumni Association (MCAA) Career Award of European Commission in 2017.  She served as a technical program co-chair for MICCAI 2016, Athens, Greece, and MIDL 2019, London, UK.  Currently, she is a member of the ITU-AI, and the director of the ITU Vision Lab. Her research interests are in AI, computer vision, deep learning and machine learning.

Fun Fact

I once finished the role-playing computer game Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic in 2 weeks, doing almost nothing else other than playing the game.


Alican Mertan

Ph.D. Student

Email: mertana@itu.edu.tr

Enes Albay

Ph.D. Candidate

Email: albay@itu.edu.tr

Gülçin Baykal Can

Ph.D. Student

Email: baykalg@itu.edu.tr

Onur Aydın

Ph.D. Student

Email: aydinon20@itu.edu.tr

Yusuf H. Sahin

Ph.D. Student

Email: sahinyu@itu.edu.tr

Abdullah Akgül

Master's Degree Student

Email: akgula15@itu.edu.tr

Doğay Kamar

Master's Degree Student

Email: kamard@itu.edu.tr

    İbrahim Şamil Yalçıner

    Master's Degree Student

    Email: yalciner15@itu.edu.tr

    Fırat Öncel

    Master's Degree Student

    Email: oncelf@itu.edu.tr

    Zeki Gençer

    Master's Degree Student

    Email: gencerz19@itu.edu.tr

    Ahmet Agah Karagöz

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: karagoza15@itu.edu.tr

    Atahan Özer

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: ozera17@itu.edu.tr

    Batuhan Faik Derinbay

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: derinbay18@itu.edu.tr

    Ece Sancar

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: sancar17@itu.edu.tr

    Ertuğrul Semiz

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: semiz16@itu.edu.tr

    Hüzeyfe Burak Arslan

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: arslanhu20@itu.edu.tr

    Kadir Burak Buldu

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: buldu19@itu.edu.tr

    Mürüvvet Bozkurt

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: bozkurtm16@itu.edu.tr

    Metehan Seyran

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: seyran17@itu.edu.tr

    Mustafa Emre Yıldırım

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: yildirimmus16@itu.edu.tr

    Ufuk Demir

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: demiruf17@itu.edu.tr

    Uğur Ali Kaplan

    Undergraduate Student

    Email: kaplanug17@itu.edu.tr

    Furkan Özçelik

    Alumnus

    Email: ozcelikfu@gmail.com

    Vahit Buğra Yeşilkaynak

    Alumnus

    Email: yesilkaynak15@itu.edu.tr

    Mehmet Aygün

    Alumnus

    Email: aygunme@itu.edu.tr

    Şahin Olut

    Alumnus

    Email: olut.sahin@gmail.com