Our Team

Contact Information

Email: gozde.unal@itu.edu.tr

Prof. Dr. Gözde Ünal

Professor

gozde.unal@itu.edu.tr
Faculty of Computer and Informatics Engineering, Room 4322
Ayazaga Campus, Istanbul Technical University
Istanbul, Turkey

Biography

Gozde Unal received her PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering with a PhD minor in Mathematics from North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA, in 2002. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Georgia Institute of Technology, USA, Dr. Unal worked as a research scientist at Siemens Corporate Research, Princeton, NJ, USA between 2003-2007. She also worked at HPLabs, Palo Alto, CA, and Xerox Labs, Webster, NY as a visiting researcher.  She held positions of assistant professor and associate professor at Sabancı University, Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences between 2007-2015.   In Fall 2015, she joined Istanbul Technical University, Department of Computer Engineering, where she is currently a full professor. She is one of the founding professors of the new AI&Data Engineering Department at ITU. She served as the founding director of the ITU-AI: ITU Artificial Intelligence and Data Science Research Center.

Dr. Unal was the recipient of L’Oreal Turkey’s Female Scientist Award in 2010 in Life Sciences, and the Distinguished Young Scientist Award from TUBA (GEBIP). She was awarded the Marie Curie Alumni Association (MCAA) Career Award of European Commission in 2017.  She served as a technical program co-chair for MICCAI 2016, Athens, Greece, and MIDL 2019, London, UK.  Currently, she is a member of the ITU-AI, and the director of the ITU Vision Lab. Her research interests are in AI, computer vision, deep learning and machine learning.

Fun Fact

I once finished the role-playing computer game Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic in 2 weeks, doing almost nothing else other than playing the game.


                Twitter Account:

   Google Scholar Account:


Enes Albay

Ph.D. Candidate

Email: albay@itu.edu.tr

Gülçin Baykal Can

Ph.D. Student

Email: baykalg@itu.edu.tr

Onur Aydın

Ph.D. Student

Email: aydinon20@itu.edu.tr

Yusuf H. Sahin

Ph.D. Student

Email: sahinyu@itu.edu.tr

Abdullah Akgül

Master's Degree Student

Email: akgula15@itu.edu.tr

Altay Ünal

Master's Degree Student

Email: unal21@itu.edu.tr

Doğay Kamar

Master's Degree Student

Email: kamard@itu.edu.tr

Fırat Öncel

Master's Degree Student

Email: oncelf@itu.edu.tr

Zeki Gençer

Master's Degree Student

Email: gencerz19@itu.edu.tr

Mürüvvet Bozkurt

Undergraduate Student

Email: bozkurtm16@itu.edu.tr

Kadir Burak Buldu

Undergraduate Student

Email: buldu19@itu.edu.tr

Talha Sezer Çakır

Undergraduate Student

Email: cakirta18@itu.edu.tr

Sakine Büşra Göçmez

Undergraduate Student

Email: sbngocmez@gmail.com

Ebrar Ömer

Undergraduate Student

Email: omer17@itu.edu.tr

Atahan Özer

Undergraduate Student

Email: ozera17@itu.edu.tr

Evren Çetinkaya

Undergraduate Student

Email: cetinkayaev17@itu.edu.tr

Ece Sancar

Undergraduate Student

Email: sancar17@itu.edu.tr

Emine Darı

Undergraduate Student

Email: dari18@itu.edu.tr

Utku Uyar

Undergraduate Student

Email: uyaru19@itu.edu.tr

Alp Kartal

Undergraduate Student

Email: kartal19@itu.edu.tr

Başar Demir

Undergraduate Student

Email: demirba18@itu.edu.tr

Hüzeyfe Burak Arslan

Undergraduate Student

Email: arslanhu20@itu.edu.tr

Ahmet Agah Karagöz

Undergraduate Student

Email: karagoza15@itu.edu.tr

Alican Mertan

Alumnus

Email: mertana@itu.edu.tr

Batuhan Faik Derinbay

Alumnus

Email: derinbay18@itu.edu.tr

Furkan Özçelik

Alumnus

Email: ozcelikfu@gmail.com

Ufuk Demir

Alumnus

Email: demiruf17@itu.edu.tr

Uğur Ali Kaplan

Alumnus

Email: kaplanug17@itu.edu.tr

Vahit Buğra Yeşilkaynak

Alumnus

Email: yesilkaynak15@itu.edu.tr

Mehmet Aygün

Alumnus

Email: aygunme@itu.edu.tr

Şahin Olut

Alumnus

Email: olut.sahin@gmail.com